Shedding the College Cocoon

September 7, 2010 at 9:12 am 2 comments

“Turn and face the strange,” sang the great David Bowie. And he’s right: we all change with time.

And like a butterfly sheds its cocoon, so have I, in both my professional and personal life, grown away from the scope of The PRepguide.

Atlas mothHaving graduated this past May, I moved 800 miles out of my warm, fuzzy comfort zone in Michigan to pursue a career as a PR professional in New York City.

Now I’m living in the hot-spot of the world, working full-time at a top ranked hybrid PR agency and steadily rebuilding my network of friends and acquaintances in my new location. Not to mention keeping an eye out to avoid being attacked by these damn NYC pigeons.

So I’ve started a new blog to reflect these changes: PR Geek Speak.

This new space means worlds of different topic possibilities: case studies, agency life, new and traditional media, social media for both professional and personal use, how to land a job in PR, interviews with industry influencers and more.

I may no longer be a student, but just because I’m employed doesn’t mean that I’ve learned everything to be a successful PR professional. In fact, the real class session has only just begun.

Whether you were a former reader of PRepguide or just happened to stumble across my new blog, I hope you savor every little morsel I have to offer.

Stay tuned for further details on the future of The PRepguide.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Stay Tuned At PR Geek Speak: It’s All in the Approach

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura Scholz  |  September 7, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Congrats on your new blog, sweetie! I came to PR even later than you did–I was a political science major and got my master’s degree in arts administration. I’ve never taken a single class in marketing or communications. I learned everything on the job, starting with an internship in grad school and later in a position where I just started doing what no one else would.

    I really believe the best way to learn is by doing. And by engaging in conversations like this one. So proud of you!!

    Reply
  • 2. jasmollica  |  September 7, 2010 at 10:58 am

    What’s great about this… you’ve not only shed your college skin, you’ve blossomed into a terrific PR pro who “gets it!” Keep pushing forward!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is..

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Follow me on Twitter!


