Little Fish in the Big Apple

May 28, 2010 at 6:55 am 9 comments

It’s been awhile. But here I am and damn, does it feel good to be back.

Over two weeks ago, I left life as I knew it in rural Big Rapids, Michigan and flew out to New York City to begin a new life.

Now I am living my post-grad dream: working in a tall building doing PR for an awesome company with a really cool client list. I still pinch myself every once in a while just to make sure I’m not asleep.

But I confess: I am absolutely intimidated by the vast NY sea (pun intended). I have a slight idea of what I’m doing, but most of the time I’m completely lost and have to ask for directions — both as an intern and as sidewalk traffic.

The best piece of advice my mom gave me before she tearfully said goodbye at the airport was “fake it ’til you make it” (she’s in sales, explains A LOT). Usually, this sentiment would go against my character: I’m take-me-as-I-am candid. But I’ve learned that when you are at your most unconfident/ nervous/ shaking-in-your-shoes terrified is when it is most important to seem confident. Even if you don’t feel a lick of it, you need to pretend you believe it. If you don’t believe in yourself, how can you expect other people to?

In the end, the hope is that “faking it” will become habit and at that point it, isn’t faking it at all: it’s true blue confidence. And as CT Michaels said in his post on PR Breakfast Club, you need to be confident if you are going to make it in this business..and in this city.

It’s Me vs. NYC. And I’m not slowing my pace anytime soon.

Entry filed under: Life of an intern.

You’re Toast: 5 Tips to Avoid Burnout During the Last Stretch Stay Tuned

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel Esterline  |  May 28, 2010 at 7:16 am

    Little fish always grow bigger 🙂

    Pretty soon you will be a shark in the sea!

    Reply
  • 2. Kimberly  |  May 28, 2010 at 7:47 am

    I’m sure you are being much too hard on yourself. Seems to me like you’re doing great!

    Reply
  • 3. lmnovo  |  May 28, 2010 at 8:18 am

    I’m so proud of you, Mikinzie!!! You will be great!

    Reply
  • 4. Stephanie Majercik  |  May 28, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    So glad you’re enjoying yourself! It will take some getting used to for sure, but eventually you’ll be a pro! Stay positive!!

    Reply
  • 5. tegan zimmerman  |  June 1, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Mikinze-

    Great post. I lived/interned in NYC about 2 summers ago and it was a great experience but scary at first. I’m sure you’ll do great.

    Let me know if you ever want to chat about it!

    Tegan

    Reply
  • 6. Jen  |  June 1, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    One of my mentors once said to “just do it” (like the Nike ads). How are we ever going to learn if we don’t dive in and get messy in the work? I’ve always found that taking this hit-the-pavement-running attitude really helps with the learning process, especially in a new environment.

    Glad to hear you’re enjoying NYC/the internship – look forward to meeting you sometime in the city!

    Jen

    Reply
  • 7. Liz Pope  |  June 2, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Congrats on your new job Mikinzie! And in NY too, even better 🙂 Looking forward to updates on your blog (which I just found) and on Twitter. Props!

    Reply
  • 8. contoveros  |  August 27, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Adopt a Poker Face that beams “know how” and no one will ever suspect how little you know.

    Walk with intent, as if you know exactly where you are going and are certain of your destination, even when you’re lost and unsure.

    And don’t take big bites of food when in the company of others. Never know when you’ll be called on to speak, and you don’t want to appear speechless because your mouth is too full.

    Good luck, And thanks for this insight!

    michael j
    Conjshohocken, PA USA

    Reply
  • 9. agrodutmandal  |  January 22, 2013 at 8:40 am

    Another great post from you. I liked it. Thanks for sharing.

    Regards
    Agrodut Mandal
    Academic Assignment

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is..

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow me on Twitter!


