Two Twommandments of Using Twitter in Your Job Search

March 31, 2010 at 2:45 pm 4 comments

I’d like to introduce you to March’s PRepster of the Month, Stephanie Majercik. Stephanie is a senior at Canisius College in Buffalo, NY graduating May 2010 with degrees in Communication Studies, German and European Studies. She is currently the media relations intern with buffalofutsal and Concert chair/event planner extraordinaire on the Student Programming Board. Connect with her on TwitterLinkedIn and check out her blogging debut, The Blonde Experience.

A PRepster of the Month Post By Stephanie Majercik

Most students have realized by now that an online presence is helpful during their job search. Some of them have even remodeled their Facebook profiles to appear more professional than the typical college student. Many students, myself included, have recognized Twitter’s potential for networking during their job search.

Like other social networking sites, Twitter is a tool; every tool has a purpose. When used correctly, tools do their job very well. When used incorrectly, tools can have adverse effects. I’ll admit: I’ve learned what not to do when it comes to using Twitter as a job search tool because I’ve used it incorrectly in the past. Twitter has been much more useful to me since I’ve stopped hiding and started contributing. I can only imagine that it can work for others this way too.

1)    Thou Shalt Not Block Your Tweets. Blocking your tweets prevents you from joining the conversation. I used to have my tweets blocked, but realized when I participated in the first #PRStudChat that nothing I tweeted was being seen in the tweet stream. Because they weren’t my followers, they couldn’t see my tweets, and because they couldn’t see my tweets, how could they know I would be a value to their following? The same applies to the job search. For one, companies and professionals you tweet at won’t see your tweets if they aren’t following you. And if they can’t see your tweets, there really isn’t an incentive for them to know if you would be worth following. So in order to ensure that your ideas are really heard, unblock your tweets!

2)    Thou Shalt Keep Your Tweet Stream Holy. We all like to update our statuses to tell others what we’re up to, which is fine every now and then, but I find the true value of Twitter to be interacting with others. I was looking at a friend’s Twitter page the other day and all that was tweeted were statuses like “Updating my resume” and “On the job hunt.” There are no links posted and no @replies to other tweeples. If you’re not interacting or sharing with others, then where is the incentive for employers to follow you? You guessed it: there is none.

Entry filed under: PRepster of the Month. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Real Friends vs Social Media Friends Are You Ready to ROCK (Your Interview)?

4 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is..

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Follow me on Twitter!


