Time Does Not Wait for Those Who Blog

January 16, 2010 at 11:41 am 6 comments

As you may have noticed, PRepguide’s posts have been pretty sparse the past week. And while I’m not one to make excuses, what a heck of a week it’s been!

  • Offered two internships (one paid, one unpaid)
  • Phone meeting with CEO of potential internship
  • Offered a well-paying freelance gig
  • Client meeting with freelance gig (hour drive, both ways)
  • Put in my two weeks at Ferris News Services and Media Relations
  • Work-study for new PR coordinator on reconstructing the PR major at Ferris
  • Guest-moderated January 13th’s edition of #PRStudChat
  • Invited to write a series of guest-posts for #PRStudChat on Examiner.com
  • First week of classes
  • Homework
  • Sleep? What sleep?

And while I still have a dozen half-finished posts, as well as a little red notebook full of ideas for new posts, I’ve been too OCD about my writing to quickly write a post and publish it. So the question is:

Should bloggers quickly write posts and publish them several times a week?

-OR-

Should bloggers scrutinize his/her writing with a careful eye and publish fewer times per week?

Entry filed under: Social Media, etc.. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

What’s the Price of Your Dreams? Even Losers Get Their Time to Shine

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  January 16, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Honestly, the best way I usually go about it during a busy time (when I used to write for my student-run PR firms blog) was to write a bunch of posts when I had free time. Then, when it came time that my blogging was sparse, I would read the post again, make sure it was still relevant, add new things, etc. Voila! Instant blog post. Otherwise, I would try to do shorter posts, if possible. I feel like consistent content is very important regardless if length.

    Reply
  • 2. Norm  |  January 16, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    I think it depends on what your goals are for the blog. As we discussed the other day, in my case, I don’t want a news rehash to just have info on the blog. I want it to be relevant and useful to whoever views it. If that means it goes a week with out a post so be it.

    Reply
  • 3. Robin Luymes  |  January 16, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    I blog when I have time and when I have something to say. There have been times where I don’t write for a week because I’m too busy, and ther have been times when there’s just not that much to say.

    I’m not going to apologize for the times I’m too busy to blog. I probably should work harder to find something to say when I’m feeling uninspired. I feel like my best posts, however, are in reaction to what I’m doing right now or what is happening in the world at this moment.

    In any case, I think it’s important to post twice a week or daily or weekly or whatever *if you have set that expectation* with your readers. If you have said up front that there is no set schedule and that there are times that your education or work will be your priority, your readers will understand.

    Most will come to your blog because of an RSS feed or your own tweets anyway, so it’s not like they keep coming back to your page hoping something new is there. And sometimes absence makes the heart grow fonder, right? A longer break than normal might actually draw favorable notice, as in, “Oh! There you are!!”

    Reply
  • 4. Nick Lucido  |  January 16, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    I’m right there with you. This week, I logged 70+ hours at the auto show, so I let my blogging slip a bit. What I’ve come to find out is the best kind of blogging is a mix of both of the above types. I try not to put something short and irrelevant just to have a post. That said, I try to regularly blog. Setting deadlines for yourself and producing solid work is really helpful as a student.

    Congrats on all of the good things!

    Reply
  • 5. yaniqueshaw  |  January 17, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Those are really good questions… I just started a new blog and I’m getting the feeling I won’t be able to commit to it as much as I want to. So, I think we should do a little of both.

    Sometime you just have to let the blog world know how you really feel about something. Other times when we are able to spend more time with a blog we should get more in-depth. Personally, my blogs are short and to my POV. Because like me, my readers have short attention span.

    Reply
  • 6. TSwain  |  February 1, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is..

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow me on Twitter!


