Even Losers Get Their Time to Shine

January 16, 2010 at 1:30 pm 3 comments

Photo by Visualogist

On January 13, I guest-moderated the twitter chat PRStudChat with the topic, “Social Media in the Classroom and the PR Educator’s Role.” However, I came a long way from December’s chat to get the spot as January’s moderator.

Due to a final exam, I had missed the majority of December 16th’s #PRStudChat at the usual 12-o-clock hour, where I was up for nomination to receive a scholarship from BurrellesLuce a gift of PR and social media books from PFS Marketwyse. I raced through an all-essay exam, writing two pages before most were finished with the first. I sped home, ripped off my coat and shoes, threw down my books and things, nearly yanking off the screen of my Macbook while flipping it open. I had 20 minutes left of #PRStudChat; there was still time.

I tweeted with the fervor of an angry bull, RT-ing and answering upcoming questions as if I were disseminating a bomb. But it was too late. Shortly after I had joined the chat, the voting poll had closed. I lost my chance to shine.

Luckily a good friend of mine, Rachel Esterline, and emerging PR standout Kion Sanders had won the prizes. Even though I felt the sting of having lost the contest (as a former collegiate-athlete, I think it goes without saying that I’m naturally competitive), it was good to see two deserving friends of mine recognized for their hard work and contributions to the online PR community.

Much to my surprise, co-founders and co-hosts of #PRStudChat Deirdre BreakenridgePR 2.O expert and co-author of Putting the Public Back in Public Relations and Valerie Merahn Simon Senior Vice President at BurrellesLuce media monitoring and measurement approached me about guest-moderating January’s #PRStudChat shortly after December’s chat.

Whether it was because of my crazy priorities (#PRStudChat over an exam? A no-brainer, right?) or my crazy amount of tweeting and engagement during the last 20 minutes of December’s chat that landed me in the spotlight of January’s #PRStudChat is beyond me.

Whatever the case may be, I was honored to have served as 2010’s first guest-moderator of #PRStudChat and would like to publicly thank Deirdre and Valerie for giving me such an exciting opportunity.

Entry filed under: #PRStudChat. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Time Does Not Wait for Those Who Blog Do You Use Social Media to Vent?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kion Sanders  |  January 16, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    As a previous athlete, I’m very competitive as well. It was an honor to be nominated in the same category as you and Rachel. You’re both PR rock-stars and I’m certain the two of you will accomplish great things for this industry.

    Sorry I missed the chat but I heard great reviews
    !

    Reply
  • 2. Valerie  |  January 17, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Your welcome! I love your enthusiasm for the chat and for the December contest

    Like you, I have always been very competitive. If I set out to do something, I strive to be the best. However, I hope that one of the takeaways from #PRStudChat is that there is more than one way to win… and that opportunities are there for all who choose to embrace them.

    While we certainly plan to have many more contests, giveaways and guest moderators, I’d like to think that the real “winners” in #PRStudChat are those who use the chat as an opportunity to learn and to build new relationships. Contests are great (hey, who doesn’t want an extra $200), but sometimes it takes a while to understand the biggest “wins.” I hope that becoming a part of a dynamic community like #PRStudChat offers you opportunities beyond what you may imagine today; advice, recommendations, mentors, camaraderie, referrals, an internship or job or business partner.

    So continue to offer your passion and spirit. Strive to do your very best. And as you have illustrated so nicely above, never fail to recognize that the next opportunity is just around the corner…

    Reply
  • 3. Ryan  |  January 20, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I know I’m late to the party, but just wanted to say Congrats!!! You deserve it, of course. Because you rock and all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is..

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow me on Twitter!


