What’s the Price of Your Dreams?

January 11, 2010 at 8:47 am 9 comments

Recently I saw the movie Up in the Air, starring George Clooney. By the way, I highly recommend this movie. It is a great film about introspection, work life vs personal life, the value of human connection and more. Don’t expect a lot of action, this one is for the “thinkers.”

What struck me most during the movie is when Clooney’s character is consoling an employee he had just fired. “How much did they pay you to give up on your dreams?” says Clooney to the grief-stricken father of two.

This got me thinking, how much money would I have to be offered to give up my dreams? Would I give them up in the first place?

At first, I thought this was an easy answer: obviously, I’d pursue my dreams. But once I took a minute to think about this, I found that this question wasn’t as easy to answer as I had thought. After all, dreams don’t pay the electricity bill. They don’t pay my rent or for the shoes on my feet. Dreams are just that: dreams.

Last week’s #u30pro featured a question that got me back to thinking about the movie. The question was “In this economy, do you quit a job if its not in line with your plan?”

Sometimes life gets in the way and people lose sight of their dreams, working jobs they don’t enjoy for the comfort of a consistent paycheck. But what if you have the chance to make your dreams a reality? Do you settle for the paycheck that will put food in your refrigerator? Or do you patiently wait for your dreams to come true?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Networking for the New Year Time Does Not Wait for Those Who Blog

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sheema  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:06 am

    First of all, I completely agree that Up In The Air was an amazing movie and I loved the questions that the movie brought up. I’m a big believer in pursuing your dreams, but I think in order to do that, you have to make sacrifices and prioritize. In an ideal world, every person who hated their job could quit and go for their dreams without worrying about paying their mortgage, etc. Unfortunately, we don’t live in an ideal world. I think if you’re truly passionate about going for your dreams, you can make it happen- by saving some money every month, by starting to do it on the side at first, etc. I guess what I’m trying to say that its definitely possible, but you have to work hard and be determined!

    Reply
  • 2. Rowena Briones  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:49 am

    I was invited to go see Up in the Air – I wasn’t interested, but now I’m a little intrigued – I love movies that make you think.

    Of course I am all for going for your dreams, but in all honesty I think it depends on what that “dream” may be and how realistic it is to achieve. For instance, I would love to perform on Broadway, but we all know how competitive and cut throat the competition would be and what sacrifices I would have to make to get there. So, realizing this, perhaps I would shape this dream into something a little more attainable, like auditioning for local or regional shows.

    However, being the motivated, ambitious young person I am, I do not fully give up or change every single dream that I have – I assess my options and pursue the dreams worth pursuing. I may not ever be on Broadway, but I do want to make strides in my field. And so, I diligently work towards doing so, by working hard as a student, engaging others, and networking. Though in other people’s eyes I may not be the most successful person in 5-10 years, I will know deep in my heart that I have tried my best to work towards a career that I truly love. And being passionate about what I do every day to me, is success: it’s living the dream.

    Reply
  • 3. jasmollica  |  January 11, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Very intriguing post, Mikinzie! I really had to think long and hard about this.
    I think in some ways we have to sacrifice our dreams for money. As you said, dreams don’t put shoes on your feet. My first two jobs weren’t the best paying, but I was able to make it work. I was also on the way in a career I loved.
    Eventually, my dreams came true when I started working in NYC in television and radio.
    So, despite early sacrifices, I eventually was able to make my dreams come true.
    There is an old saying, “If you dream it, you can achieve it.” That dream, in my opinion, will eventually become a reality!

    Reply
  • 4. lmnovo  |  January 11, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    I’ll definitely have to see that movie! Sounds great. As for your question, I have to agree that it is harder to answer than it sounds. As I mentioned in the #u30pro chat, my favorite teacher always says: when you love what you do, you make enough money. That is idealistic, yes, but I hope to always keep that innocent excitement and passion!

    Reply
  • 5. Ryan  |  January 11, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Hey Mikinzie,

    Jason posted something similar over on his blog a few weeks ago.

    Your work does not have to be your passion. We live in a world of Gary V’s who say ‘monetize your passion’ amongst other things.

    I’ve started to monetize my passion, but it might be tough to sustain a living off of it. I also realized that in doing that, I lost what hobbies I had.

    But, amongst that message that Gary V sends, he also says don’t quit your job if it will make you poor, and I agree with that.

    If you truly hate your job, quit. I did. My job was terrible, I hated it, so I left. But now, times are tough, and it’s a rough road ahead, so there are always consequences for your actions.

    Reply
  • 6. Yanique Shaw  |  January 11, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    This is a great post.

    One of my biggest fears as a student about to graduate is settling for the job that just pays the bills. I have dreams of working in NYC or LA in fashion PR but if I don’t find that dream job within six months of graduation, do I settle? Student loans don’t care about your dreams. However, maybe the dream job comes after you find financial stability. “Follow your dreams” right?!?! -In moderation when it comes to the real world, but never give up on it.

    P.S. Now I have to see that movie! LOL!

    Reply
  • 7. The easy way out  |  January 12, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    […] thought, what is the hard way out? Is it perhaps taking responsibility for your […]

    Reply
  • 8. Amy  |  January 15, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Loved this post! I’ve been thinking about the same things on my blog: icescreaminside.blogspot.com

    🙂

    Reply
  • […] The flight was long (about 19 hours). I slept, ate some food, and watched three movies (including Up in the Air, as I was inspired by Mikinzie’s blog post). […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is..

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow me on Twitter!


