9 Best PR Moves I Made in ’09

December 30, 2009 at 10:22 am 7 comments

1. Start the PRepguide blog

By far, one of my best moves in 2009 was starting my own blog. Starting a blog, as I’ve mentioned before, is a great way to  get recognized for your PR knowledge, ideas and writing skills. It is also a great way to get constructive criticism when people leave a comment. If your post fosters a discussion, then you know it was a good post.

2. Learn how to use twitter

When I first joined twitter, I had no idea what I was doing. It wasn’t until I started my blog that I started to use twitter as an means to an end in order to promote my blog. But by doing that, along with my curious personality, I “accidentally” learned how to engage myself with other people using twitter.

3. Joining twitter chats, such as #PRStudChat and #Journchat

PRStudChat and Journchat has allowed me to meet and discuss with other likeminded people on twitter. The trick to these chats? Jumping in feet first with no hesitations. You will be shocked at how fast the time goes by!

4. Get to know PR professors beyond the classroom

Develop a lasting relationship with your professors and touch base with them regularly, even if it doesn’t regard the latest assignment. After all, they’re people too! It’s easy to slack off when you don’t have an interest of your professor but when you personally know your professor, it makes it nearly impossible to let them down.

5. Connect with other PR students

Since I’m not  a PR major (See “The PRepster” page for more info), I haven’t spent the last 4 years getting to know Ferris State PR students inside or outside the classroom. This year, after joining PRSSA (See below), I’ve connected and made friends with many of them. I’ve used twitter to connect with PR students around the nation and have even met individually with PR students from other schools, such as @RachelEsterline and @PattyBaragar. It can never hurt to have too many friends. Unless it’s your 21st birthday and you’re at the bar. Then it might hurt the next morning. Very badly.

6. Join PRSSA

This is my first year in PRSSA. As I mentioned above, it’s allowed me to make friends with a lot of the Ferris State PR students beyond my PR classes. Even though I’m not on e-board, I try to help any way that I can and offer all ideas and suggestions to them. Even if I don’t have an official leadership position in the Ferris chapter of PRSSA, that doesn’t mean I can’t still be a leader among my peers and offer my help and advice to others. The key is to be an active member. Don’t just sit for a half hour during meetings; speak up to offer suggestions or ideas.

7. Toot my own horn

People aren’t going to talk about something if they don’t know about it; so who better to hear it from than you? You need to toot your own horn first if you want others to eventually do it for you.

8. Start freelancing, even if it’s “pro-bono”

A few people have mentioned they like my blog and have asked me to do some freelance writing and consulting for them. Most of those opportunities have been unpaid, but since I like helping people, I’ve offered to do it for them. It adds more experience to my resume and allows me establish my own deadlines: when I’m not being paid for freelancing, my other “paid” priorities come first. Freelancing, even when it’s pro-bono, can lead to other paid opportunities.

9. Learn when too much really is too much

My worst habit is not saying “No” often enough, which results in me taking on more than I can physically or mentally handle. I’ve had several great opportunities present themselves to me, but having a full load of classes, two jobs, homework, job searching, PRSSA, freelancing and running when I get a spare moment can eat up a lot of time in my day. Sometimes you need to assess what is on your plate and realize when your eyes are bigger than your stomach.

I’m looking forward to #10 and more in 2010.

Entry filed under: Beyond the Campus Bubble.

PRepster of the Month: Rebekah Nale on “Graduation” Networking for the New Year

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robin Luymes  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:37 am

    #10 Network with professionals online and off. Some may be future employers or referrals, all have some little piece of wisdom to share. Check! (Yeah, you’ve done that one too.)

    Reply
  • 2. @collentine  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:42 am

    good read and sounds like you’ve done a lot of good this year, let’s hope for an even better 2010 🙂

    Some of the best things I’ve done this year is definitely twitter and reading a lot of blogs.

    For 2010 I will write more frequently in my blog and expect it to help my career a lot. Starting up my company is also another big step which will make for an exciting 2010.

    Starting to get very busy with everything I want to do but hopefully I’m also able to say “no often enough”

    Wishing you a prosperous 2010!

    Reply
  • 3. Britt  |  December 30, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Great post Mikinzie. After a few unsuccessful attempts I just started a new blog and hope I get as much traffic as you. Like you I learned Twitter, but that started while in my internet marketing class mainly as research. I don’t think I could imagine myself today without my Twitter lol. I completely agree about the chats, you get great advice and meet awesome people!! Also PRSSA is a great resource for any student to learn a bit more and get the chance to network.

    Reply
  • 4. Sheema  |  December 30, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Great post- I wish I’d seen this when I was still a student. It looks like you’re doing all the right things and are well on your way to becoming a very successful PR pro!

    Reply
  • 5. lmnovo  |  December 30, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Mikinzie,
    I relate well to this post! I’m also not a PR major and have taken some major steps this year to prove I can keep up with everyone else. It’s so important to join networking associations, jump into virtual conversations and connect with other PR pros and students! I also love your #9, because it is me to a TEE! I have the hardest time saying no and therefore always have a lot on my plate. There are obvious disadvantages to this, but at the same time, a lot of GREAT things have come from certain things I didn’t think I had time for. All in all, it’s been a great year (for both of us!) and I can’t wait for 2010. Great post, girl!
    Lauren

    Reply
  • 6. Gee  |  December 30, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    #4, as a professor, I can say that if students make genuine efforts to communicate with me, I seldom let them down either!

    Reply
  • 7. Tara  |  January 3, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Great post, Mikinzie! I’ve just graduated, not as a PR major but with a concentration in it. Looking for a job has been tough, but blogs like yours really help me with some great tips and motivation to keep working on bettering myself for future employers.

    Your #4 move is definitely a good one. I’ve made sure to keep some lasting contacts with my favorite professors and hope to continue the relationships. They are the ones that have also given me some great advice, are very willing to write great recommendations for me and help me with anything that I need. Also, not many people use their professors like this. They think it’s weird that I interact so much with them, but wish they have.

    I’ll absolutely be checking back for any of your new blog entries. It’s really great stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is..

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow me on Twitter!


