The #PRStudChat challenge

October 22, 2009 at 9:16 pm 2 comments

On Oct. 21, 2009 I participated in my first #PRStudChat. Seeing my tweets about the question of grad school for PR, @valeriesimon contacted me and told me I should join in the #PRStudChat conversation.

However this time, the chat was set up a little differently this time: as a competition.

The Challenge: Whichever school had the greatest number of participants in the Oct. 21 chat wins.

The Prize:

  • An in-depth conversation with public relations industry veteran Deirdre Breakenridge via Skype (an opportunity to pose questions and interact with one of PR’s leading professionals).
  • An opportunity to earn some publicity for their PR programs.  will be donating a
  • A $50 American Express Gift Certificate donated by BurrellesLuce  for the students to celebrate their win.

The Rules: Student or educators must send a tweet to @valeriesimon in order to obtain their assigned university 3 character hashtag to be used in every tweet for tracking. At the end of the chat, the tags will be tallied and the winner will be announced the following morning.

UMD_logo

The Winner: University of Maryland won the #PRStudChat Challenge. I want to take this opportunity to personally congratulate them, especially grad student Rowena Briones, who I e-met awhile back on twitter.

I had mentioned the #PRStudChat challenge to my @FSUPRSSA president, though I seemed to be one of the few (if not only) current Ferris students to join in the conversation. I’m hoping that I can get more of them to take part in it next month.

However, the thing I was most geeked about was that #PRStudChat’s guest tweeter for the Oct. 21 challenge was Chris Perkett, founder of Perkett PR in Boston, MA. A former Ferris grad, Chris’ success with her own company has been an inspiration to me. I gave her a friendly hello from #ferrisstate in hopes that we could connect, though I think she might have been dealing with twitter-overload. After all, she was the guest speaker! However, she did retweet my comment about Ferris starting a Public Relations Ethics and Law class next semester (Winter 2010). Even though we weren’t able to connect, I’m proud that a Ferris grad was invited to be in the spotlight at such a big SM-event.

Entry filed under: #PRStudChat. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

#PRStudChat: A quick and dirty rundown A big ball of bad news

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rowena Briones  |  October 22, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Thanks for the little shout out in your post! I’m so happy that you participated in #PRStudChat – you definitely had a lot of great, insightful things to say! I hope the chat was helpful in your little search for whether or not to go to grad school. As always, if you need any help or advice, please let me know! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. chrisperkett  |  October 27, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Hi Mikinzie – thanks so much for mentioning me in your blog. I’m glad you did because although I didn’t catch every Tweet during #PRStudChat, I definitely am available to say hello anytime.

    You can keep up with me on Twitter – just @ me and I’ll be sure to reply and follow back. I try to keep up with anyone engaging in conversation directly with me, and I’m so happy to have made your acquaintance.

    Hopefully next time we’ll get more Ferris folks to join! They missed a great session this time but I know that future chats will be just as interesting and informative.

    Thanks again and stay in touch,
    Christine Perkett
    PerkettPR
    http://www.twitter.com/missusP
    http://www.twitter.com/PerkettPR
    http://www.perkettprsuasion.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is..

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow me on Twitter!


