Nice to, um, meet you?

October 15, 2009 at 1:22 pm 2 comments

SM hand clickWe’ve all pretty much accepted that social media/ networking sites are, and will continue to be, a major part of our daily lives. However, there are some things that are socially awkward when it comes to using them.

For example, how do you address people you met through a social media/ networking site?

Most people think of a handshake, a smile, and eye contact when they visualize “meeting” someone for the first time. However, all of these characteristics are nearly impossible to recreate digitally. An “add” has become your virtual handshake to the social media masses. And the only “smile” and “eye contact” that they will get to see is one that was intended for the camera. Technically, you aren’t really “meeting” the person. So, how do you politely say “nice to meet you” without sounding gauche?

This is why I have  come up with a solution: the e-meet. Instead of saying “nice to meet you,” I say “nice to e-meet you.” Same goes in conversation with others: when I am speaking about someone I speak to exclusively on the web, I refer to them as someone I e-met.

I suppose you don’t really “speak” to a person when you are furiously tap-tapping on your keyboard in a chat, tweet, etc. either (unless you are using a webcam or service such as Skype). You could go as far to call this “e-speak,” but let’s not get carried away. For now, I’m just sticking with adding “e-meet” to my vocabulary.

This leads me into my next piece of beef: LinkedIn does not have an “add” option for people you e-met through social media/ networking sites.

When you go to add  a person on LinkedIn, it asks you to pick an option of how you know this person in order to send the invite to connect. However, there are only a handful of options you can choose from: colleague, classmate, business, friend, other, and the ever-redundant “I don’t know (name).”

Though I suppose you could use the “I don’t know (name)” option for people you e-meet on social networking sites, the whole idea of  inviting to connect with someone you don’t know seems unsettling to me i.e. stalker central. This option leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Why would I accept an invite to connect with someone I don’t know? My solution to this so far has been to choose the “friend” option and send a message explaining why I invited them to connect. However, this is still socially awkward, not to mention time consuming.

I vote to include a “Social Networking” option to LinkedIn’sinvite to connect” feature.

All in favor, say “Aye!”

Entry filed under: Social Media, etc.. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Loyal to Letterman BOOBS! Do I have your attention now?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patty Baragar  |  October 21, 2009 at 12:39 am

    I completely agree. While on LinkedIn this afternoon i was adding some new contacts I’d met via social media and had to write a quick, like you said awkward, introduction on top of the provided (awkward) message.

    Great post, I’m glad we “e-met” 🙂

    – Patty Baragar

    Reply
  • 2. here  |  June 5, 2012 at 5:48 am

    Awesome post . Cheers for, writing on this blog dude! I shall email you again! I did not know that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is..

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow me on Twitter!


